I knew from day one, that she was the girl. I will never forget the first time we met. My best friend, amazing friend she was then, drove me out to where she worked. I was nervous, because we’d talked on the phone and online for hours about any and everything. I knew she was special. Her soul spoke directly to mine, in a way that no one has ever done, still to this day. She was with someone then, and very unhappy, at least it seemed, but when she talked to me, her spirit would light up. I felt her energy.

When she came outside to meet us, right away, I knew she was shy. Her steps were hesitant, but her smile was bright and beautiful. When we locked eyes, I knew it was a done deal. Her eyes. Those big, beautiful, but sad brown jewels shined when they looked at me. They bore into me and saw me, my soul, and everything I could ever be. I would give my life to be able to stare into her eyes. I saw everything I ever needed and wanted in them.

I embraced her and she melted into me. She was peace. She was the universe. She was life, and the answer to every question I had in me. We talked for at least an hour, blushing and stealing glances like teenagers. I didn’t want to leave her. We were friends, but from that moment on, at least for me, we were always, more.

As my best friend and I left, I remember telling her that I was going to marry that girl one day. She laughed at me and told me I was being ridiculous. In my heart, I knew I was sure. She was the girl. The one you search for your whole life. The one who makes you better. The one you love with everything.

Even today, she still is. She always will be.